Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Dirt Bike Technical discussion. This is for a little more in depth discussions :-)
Post Reply
Markee757
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:24 pm

Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Markee757 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:25 pm

I've spent a lot of time in many different computer programs over the years. I'm not a CAD expert by any means, but good enough to get parts working in the real world.

What I've always wonder is the method people use to measure/layout/scan/etc. to get a accurate drawing in CAD.

Lets use the popular 2 piece clutch weld in adapter. If you have a gasket or cover to measure from what would be your method? The cover is just a 2D X and Y path.

User avatar
Sandblaster
Posts: 5673
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:50 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Sandblaster » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:38 pm

Well...
Accuracy is dependent on how good you can measure :shock:
What I did was put a 450 cover on a piece of graph paper and traced it.
Then used the hole positions to set up the rest.
After I had the 450 cover lay out in CAD I printed it 1:1 and laid it over the machined clutch basket and traced the pattern.
Then put it in CAD and had a good start.
Nothing is critical except the hole positions and they have some tolerance... .015"?
Next I printed it 1:1 again and made mods until I was satisfied.
After I was happy I took a piece of 1/4" aluminum and began whittling it with a sawsall and a jog saw so that I had a rough cutout.
Last, I put a end mill in my drill press and went to town on the finish work.
Yes, they are a simple X Y pattern.
The original piece I made did have a Z component but after making it I tossed out Z axis as it was not necessary.
Just a word of caution, We don't care if you make one for yourself or your buddy.
But these are under Patent Pending so don't advertise them :-)
If bikes are for kids I'll never grow up.

Markee757
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:24 pm

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Markee757 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:33 pm

I've done that method before as well. Always looking for better ways with out spending a fortune!

With something that has loose tolerances, placing a 1x1 reference piece and taking a high resolution photo, scale/resize and trace, you can get a head start.

Very true, "Accuracy is dependent on how good you can measure" I operate a FARO Tracker laser at work for machine alignment, BIG machines. The accuracy on this thing is impressive, should be for 150k.
Image

This thing would be perfect IF I or work had one :lol:

Image

Curious what exactly are you trying to patient? Utility or Design?

Markee757
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 12:24 pm

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Markee757 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:38 pm

BTW, I'm cutting one out at work. We have a couple water jets, no plans to reproduce past my motor build. I could understand a design patent being that you did the design and fitting for a particular year cover. Would think a utility patent would be tough to get?

User avatar
Sandblaster
Posts: 5673
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:50 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Sandblaster » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:44 pm

Oh, I misread your question... It would be a design patent.
I'm leaving all the heavy lifting to my attorney :lol:

A CMM is awesome. I'd love to have one.
You can also measure using a Mill that has a Digital readout or a CNC.
And then there is 3D Laser scanning.
I have never used one but they are suppose to be good to .001" +/- and that is great for most projects.
And with the way things are going the resolution will only get better and the equipment less expensive.
Then, combine that with 3D printing and soon we'll be able to do some pretty amazing things with our toys :D
If bikes are for kids I'll never grow up.

User avatar
Sandblaster
Posts: 5673
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:50 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Sandblaster » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:53 pm

On the Faro... Yeah, that thing is impressive.
I use to work at a Machine shop where I had to duplicate large machinery..
Mostly chippers, edgers, feeders, some mining equipment, and some marine.
I would start by taking a million pics..
Then take each part off, mark them, picture them, then measure the part.
All by hand.
Then 3D model in CAD and make manufacturing drawings...
Then hope that I did everything correctly :shock:
I had nothing fancy... just my calipers, mics, straightedges, tape measure, and a huge granite table.
You can do a lot with simplicity.
If bikes are for kids I'll never grow up.

Zerofear66
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:00 pm

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Zerofear66 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:42 am

Then why cant we do this with a foot peg? lol
:D

User avatar
Sandblaster
Posts: 5673
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 3:50 pm
Location: Eugene, OR
Contact:

Re: Take a part and duplicating in CAD. Question

Post by Sandblaster » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:02 am

You said "We"...
You do it :-) Hurry :-)
If bikes are for kids I'll never grow up.

Post Reply

Return to “Dirt Bike Technical discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests