New guy... tips appreciated

General discussion.
What's on your mind?
Maikkeli

New guy... tips appreciated

Post by Maikkeli » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:17 pm

Greetings!
Im from finland so excuse my writing. :oops:
Im planning on getting a KX500 and making it streetlegal with some moto wheels of course.
I have my sights on a 88´ KX5 and i was wondering what parts are interchangeable with the newer models?
Also hows the 88´ engine? Ive read the cylinder is somewhat different compared to the others, is it hard to find spare parts for that particular make and how is it overall compared to the newer ones? :?
Ive done some research but to be honest im completely new on the bike front. (Im a car mechanic)
Anyhow hopefully ill be owning a KX500 soon and any recommendations/tips are more than welcome. ;)

Sandblaster

Re: New guy... tips appreciated

Post by Sandblaster » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:52 am

Welcome to the forum!
First, look at this page:

http://oem-cycle.com/KAWASAKIKX500BIKEID.shtml

Scroll down and way to the right and it will give you a good idea on what parts interchange..
I'm tied up tonight but I will spend some time tomorrow answering the rest of your questions.
If bikes are for kids I'll never grow up.

Sandblaster

Post by Sandblaster » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:42 pm

Im planning on getting a KX500 and making it streetlegal with some moto wheels of course.

Street legal K5's are extremely fun.
The biggest drawback is range.
With a stock tank you might get 45 miles if you are twisting hard on the throttle so bring some oil with you :lol:

I have my sights on a 88´ KX5 and i was wondering what parts are interchangeable with the newer models?

I posted a link to interchange info above.

Also hows the 88´ engine? Ive read the cylinder is somewhat different compared to the others, is it hard to find spare parts for that particular make and how is it overall compared to the newer ones? :?